For various reasons, such as in the case of an employee departure, a practice might decide that it needs to reassign a deactivated user's tasks to a new user within the practice.  


Reassigning a deactivated user's tasks to a new user is a straightforward process. The first step is to add the new user through the settings menu by going to Settings > Users and then clicking Add user:


                 ↓ 


Then, in order to successfully reassign tasks to a new user, you need to ensure that both current and future tasks associated with a deactivated user will be reassigned both from:


1. The job template where the tasks form part of a job. This will ensure that all future tasks will be automatically assigned to the new user. You can access the job templates through the settings menu by going to Settings > Jobs:



Locate the job and the relevant task, and change the assignee to a different user:


                                  

2. From the Your tasks list under the Work tab for any tasks with a Ready, Pending and Overdue status. This will ensure that all current active tasks will be reassigned from the deactivated user to the new user:



From the Task list, you should filter the list to display All jobs, Starting any time, select the deactivated user and filter the list to display all task statuses except for completed and cancelled, and then click to select the tasks that you want to reassign to the new user. 


To locate the deactivated user on the user list, first select Everyone, then scroll to the bottom of the list, where you should see the names of any deactivated users.




At this stage, it is important to note that if a practice selects to reassign any In Progress tasks, this action might mark them as undone and affect the workflow.


Then, by going into More actions, you can select the Assign Tasks option:  



And then select the new user from the list of available users before pressing the Assign tasks button to complete the process:



Finally, you should deactivate the old user by going into Settings > Users > Select user > Deactivate: